SOUTHEND-ON-SEA BOROUGH COUNCIL

Meeting of The Council

Date: Thursday, 21st April, 2016 Place: Council Chamber - Civic Suite

Present:Councillor Moring (Chair)
Councillors Velmurugan (Vice-Chair), Arscott, M Assenheim, Aylen,
B Ayling, Betson, M Borton, S Buckley, M Butler, Byford, Callaghan,
Courtenay, Cox, M Davidson, L Davies, C Endersby, Evans,
N Folkard, D Garston, J Garston, Gilbert, Habermel, Hadley, Holland,
Jarvis, Jones, Kenyon, Lamb, Moyies, Mulroney, C Nevin,
Norman MBE, I Robertson, Longley, D McGlone, McMahon, Salter,
M Stafford, K Robinson, Walker, Ward, Waterworth, Willis and
Woodley

Start/End Time: 5.00 - 5.30 pm

797 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Crystall, Flewitt, Terry, Phillips, Van Looy and Ware-Lane.

798 Declarations of Interest

All Members of the Council – Minute 800 (Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman Nominations) – Non-pecuniary interest in so far as they may know or have served on the Council with one or more of the recipients for Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman.

799 Minutes of the meeting of General Purposes Committee held on Wednesday, 23rd March 2016

Minute 739 would be dealt with at the ordinary meeting of the Council at 6.30pm this evening.

Resolved:

That the recommendations contained in Minutes 741 and 742, be adopted.

800 Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman Nominations

Resolved:

That, pursuant to Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman be conferred upon the past Members listed below in recognition of their eminent services to the Council:

Mr Chris Dandridge Mr Alan Hurst Mrs Sally Carr Mr Brian Kelly Mr Ron Price Mr Tony North Mr David Ascroft

801 Honorary Freedom of the Borough

Resolved:

That, pursuant to Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Freedom of the Borough of Southend-on-Sea be conferred upon RAF No.54 Reserve Squadron in recognition of the Squadron's long and distinguished service since its formation in 1916 and of its association with Southend-on-Sea during the Second World War and in recognition of the permanent Bond of Friendship between the Squadron and the Council awarded on 1st of April 1971.

Chairman: